Considering another job change...

...but this one would be huge.

As many of you know, I'm an attorney. (For some of you, that may come as a surprise! :D) I presently work in the private sector at a small firm. By way of background, I started at a well known boutique firm in Los Angeles that had "big firm" expectations (i.e., huge billable hour requirement, lots of red tape, lots of separation between associates and partners, and otherwise very high pressure/low quality of life). From there, I moved on to a small firm, where the atmosphere suited me much better - much more of a team dynamic as opposed to the dog-eat-dog culture of a bigger firm, but the pay was less. As a young associate, I chose to give up some stuff ($$) to have better stuff (quality of life).

After a while, I moved back home to Northern California where I joined two men who had broken off from one of the largest firms in the country to start their own. They wanted to be "masters of their destiny," and claimed to want to avoid the big-firm lifestyle, including all the bad stuff I described above. They wanted a collaborative team environment. They wanted to help me grow professionally. While it was a risk to join a small, startup firm, I had faith in these two men, and felt like we'd be a good fit.

Almost two years later at this new firm, I feel like I'm right back at my first firm. This new firm has grown exponentially, and without going into details, all of the bad-traits of a big firm now exist here: the ridiculously long hours, the separation between associates and partners, the pressure, all of it. To make matters worse, I've been in practice for five years now. While I find my area of law fascinating and challenging, I don't feel like I'm contributing anything to the community in which I live....and that's the very reason why I went to law school to begin with.