Should I hook up with my boss's son?

Hi everyone, I'll try to paint this scenario as efficient as possible:

• I'm a 37 yr old accountant, single, and work at a small firm in a small town about an hour away from the city.
  • My boss, who is authoritative but very caring, has a 29 year old son who has a masters in computer programming, and is extremely shy; it's possible he's clinically shy.
  • My boss is married but very friendly and caring, and although I've never worried that he had a crush on me, I've often wondered if he considers setting me up with his son.
  • My boss's wife once blurted out, while at a company party, "you two ought to play duets together!" (I play the violin, and the son plays piano.)
  • My boss and his wife invited me over for the Fourth of July. I'm the only person from work that they invited. The son hardly spoke (as is his nature), and I was reluctant to say much to him other than "how are you," because I didn't want to make a fool of myself, just in case it WASN'T anyone's intent to set me up with him.
  • I've been at the firm about a year (I moved there from the city), and recently the son moved to the city, to take a job there. He had been employed in town, but was laid off, possibly because of his shyness.
  • But he is extremely handsome. Kind of Irish looking.

This is driving me crazy! Does it sound to any of you like I should just bite the bullet and ask my boss if he intends to set us up? Or the fact that he never set us up all year while his son was in town; should that be sufficient to say "forget it?" Was the Fourth of July BBQ supposed to be where we would get to know each other better? I'm not crazy about living in this small town (I'm more a city girl), so maybe I should just ask my boss, and if he fires me, it as meant to be?