I've been working at a medical establishment for the past 4 months now, and I don't like it. I'm always being watched, the company morale is low at best, and there is such a high turnover rate that it's depressing to work there. You can't make friends with your co-workers because they're likely to leave or get fired. Since I started there 8 people have either quit or been fired. That's an average of 2 people per month. It's high pressure since people's health is at stake, but I think they make the mistake of hiring people who have no experience and training them from the ground up. Although it's a nice way to provide opportunities it's not fair to the patients receiving sub-par care from inexperienced technicians. Also, I only get a half hour for lunch. WTF is up with that?!

So the place where I was previously working called me up recently and said they had a place for me. They offered me more money, more vacation days, more responsibility, a nicer working environment, a longer lunch, and an all around better deal. So I interviewed there yesterday and took the job.

Now I have to give notice to my current employer. To be honest, my supervisor as well as the office manager scare the bejeesus out of me. They aren't the nicest people in the world. I've never had to give notice before. I've previously worked only temporary positions or just cut and run without a good reference because the jobs I used to work were not professional jobs.

So here I sit with onion breath from lunch wondering how to break the news to my current employer. I've been a good employee thusfar. I've trained well and caught on quickly because I'm a relatively intelligent person. So it's weird. What do I do? Who should I talk to? My direct supervisor? She gives me nightmares. The office manager? He's scary too. How much notice do I give? The girl who was hired with me just cut and run without giving notice.