How do you develop confidence?

disneyfan90

This is something I've struggled with my entire life. I'm currently a graduate student, and one of my professors told me that I'm doing quite well, and I know everything I need to know. Yet, he also told me that when I'm asked to explain something he can tell that I know the information, but that I sound hesitant. The final point of this conversation was that I need to be more confident in my knowledge.

He's not the first to say this to me. Once I was hanging out at a restaurant with a few friends, and a random drunk guy approached me. One of the things he said was, "You're pretty cool. But you need more confidence." I knew he was telling the truth. When I was younger I took dance lessons, and my teacher would say to me, "Stop being so hesitant and make those moves with confidence!" Several others have told me that I come across as slightly timid--this is something I am dying to change.

When I was younger, this lack of confidence when speaking didn't affect me so much. But now that I'm in twenties and will be going through job interviews pretty soon, I know that I have to sound confident when I speak.

What's the best way to practice this?

GorillaTheater

By being more comfortable with the thought of failure, knowing that if that happens, you'll survive and be fine.

My guess is that you're a perfectionist, which will serve you well in some quarters but hold you back in others. Anything less than perfection is largely unacceptable, especially when other people are watching, and you don't want to risk looking like an idiot. The good news is that will rarely happen.

Confidence comes from plunging ahead, screwing up, and going back for more. I should know, I've had to deal with those tendencies myself.

• Like 4
  • Author
disneyfan90
By being more comfortable with the thought of failure, knowing that if that happens, you'll survive and be fine.