How Do I Get Out of My Own Way?

Hi guys,

I'm really starting to struggle and I'd like some suggestions. I'm a teacher, and I moved up north to move in with my boyfriend (previously was an ldr for two years). I live about twelve hours away from my family. I have never lived outside my town and have never had a serious relationship like this.

I got a job up here and he found supply work (also a teacher). After two weeks at my job, I found that I was suffering mentally. I was coming home crying every night, feeling sick to my stomach. I had to quit. My bf understood and said that I've been working hard all my life and that this was a big change. He said I should take my time getting back to it. A few weeks ago, I started supply teaching again while my boyfriend got a permanent position for the rest of the year.

Here's my problem though: there are days when I feel totally fine, but there are others where I feel worthless and like I'm not pulling my own weight. There are days when my boyfriend will come home and say something innocent like "I met the kindergarten teacher today, she seems really nice" and I immediately think he finds her attractive. But there are other days when I don't.

I know I have low self-esteem, but I don't know how to fix it. All my life, I was always trying to live up to the expectations of others, or simply do things for others because it made them happy (regardless of how it made me feel). But now I'm having a very hard time breaking out of the cycle. I try to keep moving and focus on what's in front of me, because I find that sometimes I'll dwell on stupid things, and suddenly I'm crying. I feel completely fragile and I hate it.