Why is finding a job so hard? v_v

Being 25, it obviously took me more time than normal to finish my education. I graduated about three months ago, now, and have been trying to find an entry level position, but the results have been extremely disappointing thus far.

I'm looking to do video editing/ video production work. I've been patrolling the typical job listing sites, but I've come across very few opportunities in the field, and despite applying to every one I could find, I never get any contact back. I tried being proactive, and looked up local video production businesses, and inquired them about potential employment, and never got any kind of responses. Even tried contacting other local businesses that have video component to them, to see if something could be worked out, but again, never any contact returned.

I know it's only been three months, and all, but I've been working a menial part time retail job for six years, now. Not only do I hate that kind of work in general, but I really like my field of interest, and I'm just starved to do something that actually feels like it matters to me.

I just don't really know what to do, at this point. It's incredibly frustrating, and it doesn't seem like there's anything on the horizon at all. I just wish I could figure something out, but I'm just at a loss.

Keep at it, but seriously consider taking on freelance work as well. Weddings, birthdays, submitting newsworthy material to the local TV stations, producing training videos for local companies, whatever. Once you establish some reputation things will be easier. Go for it!

You should have at least landed some interviews by now. Are you writing a unique cover letter for each position? You should also apply for internships in your field so you can get some experience. I know how hard it is, there just aren't enough jobs out there. Good luck.

• Author