Starting a journal...Where to begin?

I am interested in hearing if anyone on this forum keeps a daily journal or thoughts, issues, life struggles, goals etc? I am new to the whole keeping a journal thing, but just wondering how I can get started on one and keep myself motivated enough to keep it up on a daily bases.

I think it's great that you're thinking of starting a journal, it's so theraputic.

What I do for my journal is I figure it's for ME only, and I set the rules. So, my rules are that I don't feel obligated to write in it, but I write in it as much as I want to whenever I want to. I set aside special time when I'm really happy or facing a struggle to straighten out my thoughts. I swear, I tell my embarrassing feelings and thoughts on things and I get it all out--all the stuff I'd never tell anyone. It's like the perfect friend--it never tells, it's there when you need it and not there when you don't and it helps you straighten things out and never offers unwanted advice:)

So, I suggest that you set some rules that work for YOU, buy a journal that fits who you are, get a pen, find a comfy place to write and go for it!

2SidestoStories

I have been keeping diaries/journals since I was eight years old. I would have to say that during high school was the single most intensive time I spent writing in any of them. I have some of the worst poetry collected in the pages of those journals, it now makes me laugh hysterically!

The best thing to do is realize definitely that your journal is for Y O U. You may choose to share some things that are in it, for example if you happen to have some really great thoughts about life in general, and know someone else who might appreciate those same great thoughts; the best part is that you have a written record of those great thoughts (or not so great once you get them down on paper :p!) and so might have an easier time communicating them to your friends or whomever. IF you even choose to ever go that route.