I am very passionate about improving upon something and bf is not

I am a college student taking an Environmental Studies class and it has really opened my eyes to the level and rate at which we are destroying the earth. In fact, the statistics are quite anxiety producing. I have always been somewhat environmentally conscious, knowing that nature is where I find my peace and balance, it has always been something I want to leave little footprint upon.

That being said, I am still a typical American. I have my own car, I sometimes drive 30 minutes round trip to work or school and use things like paper towels, diapers for my daughter, etc. In other words, I am by no means perfect. However, I am realizing the devastating effect this can have and I want to change. I really truly do. That is why I am taking the bus to school now and have stopped using paper towels and other similar things completely. I am nowhere near where I want to be but removing the glasses of ignorance and taking small steps is a start...

The problem lies in the fact that my boyfriend thinks the information I tell him about the destruction of the Earth is more or less "hogwash." He is not afraid of what may come, nor does he have any intention of changing his ways. This is extremely frustrating because it is something I am increasingly passionate about with each passing day. It is like our minds and lifestyles are traveling down two different paths. I want him to see the facts the way I see them and allow them to change his life.

This might all sound very mumbo jumbo-ey but I really would like some feedback....

Edited by SweetD