No More Mr Nice Guy Journal: hold me accountable

Devil Inside

I am currently at a crossroads in my life. I am looking back at the mess I have created for myself and finally realized..my friend...it is time to change.

Among other things I am reading the book No More Mr. Nice Guy by Dr. Glover. I know some people feel that this book is nothing more then pop psychology and trendy; however, as a therapist, I see a lot of sound and valid thought in Dr. Glover's theories. I also, sadly, see myself as the poster Mr. Nice Guy. So I am going to start this thread to act as a journal as I work through the book.

There are many exercises that ask questions. I am going to answer many of those questions in this thread. I am very open to feedback, questions, challenges, and whatever else people feel like contributing. I am especially interesting in hearing from other Nice Guys and reformed Nice Guys. Please keep me accountable!

Thanks for reading.

• Author
Devil Inside

Q: Why would it seem rational for a person to try to eliminate or hide certain things about himself and try to become something different unless there was a compelling reason for him to do so? Why do people try to change who they really are? Take some time and think about this. Is this your behavior or the behavior of someone you know?

It is not rational to exhibit this or any behavior unless there is a reason to do so...behavior serves a functionally purpose...whether that function is conscious or not.

People try to change who they are because they are either ashamed or embarrassed of who they are, or because they think that others will not like who they are.

I often hide or eliminate parts of my personality in order to "fit in" with my environment. There are many times that I will do things that I do not want to do. Rather then say no...I want to appear accommodating and sacrificing...so I give in. I don't want to show the side of me that is more self serving.