Choosing a Therapist

Hi everyone. I've lurked on these boards and found them very helpful, especially advice from Allyboo, tony and so many others! this is my first time posting and I have a big question to ask...

It's taken me many years to finally decide I need therapy, and I'm glad I've come to this point. I have issues including a complicated relationship with my overprotective mom, I have serious relationship problems with my boyfriend and some depression/PTSD/fear of men from a violent random attack (but I was not raped).

I saw a therapist for 1.5 months but she was not helpful at all, she just sat there and listened while I cried.

I also saw a career counselor for three sessions(having trouble staying interested in a job for longer than 6-7 months, my only excuse is that I'm just 3 years out of college) because if I had it my way, I'd have a million different careers in my lifetime. The career counselor didn't help AT ALL. She even said, "I can't help you." it was a waste of money.

I've moved to a new town and am eager to start therapy with a good person, but I'm having decision-making problems in terms of finding a therapist.

I went to 2 sessions with a psychology PhD and she was really good, but I didn't feel totally comfortable with her. A little too dry and analytical. Her approach was cognitive behavioral, which is good for me, because I am analytical--BUT, I'm also very emotional and like to have my feelings validated. So I liked how analytical she was but I didn't like that she didn't *seem* compassionate (i.e. she was kind of "let's get down to business").

I went to one session with a therapist who has an M.A., I'm not sure in what, and I thought we made some progress in just that one session. she was pretty good. But I didn't feel completely comfortable with her either. She was not as analytical, which I didn't like, but she did ask me some good questions.