How do I cope up from an ACL injury?

I’ve been playing volleyball for five years now. I started to love this sport after seeing my home country play in a foreign tournament, but I do hope I can still feel that urge to play after that incident I had a month ago. While we were having our training at school, I hit the ground really hard after attempting a kill block. The doctor diagnosed that I have an anterior cruciate ligament, otherwise known as an ACL injury. It was excruciating and I cried for weeks, knowing that I may not play ever again. Nonetheless, my heart is still fighting and I still want to compete and win the championship match with my team. Tell me, how do I cope with an ACL injury? How can I cope with it in a healthy manner?

Follow your doctor's advice, whatever you do, do not damage it further! That will be the worst pain you have ever felt. Ask your doctor which exercises are safe in the context of a partial ACL tear.

Athletes return all the time from ACL injuries, even pro-athletes (though not all of course).

I know multiple young women athletes who tore their ACL's .. The recovery and surgery are a pain ... It's a lengthy recovery. You do rehab in preparation for surgery, then you have the surgery and you rehab again.

You can definitely return to high-level sports. Did someone tell you otherwise?

Work your butt off in physical therapy and do as told by the PT , which is usually going to be seeing him/her a couple times a week plus you doing two sets of exercises at home diligently, and those exercises may need to keep going for years depending on how stable your injury becomes. If you need surgery, get it, and if you get it, stay off your feet and do the PT and don't say, I have to do this, I can't not do this, or you will not heal. You can't hurry these things.

I think another poster GreenCove mentioned that she has had ACL knee surgery before in a recent thread.