Experienced Dancers with Knee Pain ?

TunaInTheBrine

Been dancing on and off as a hobby for many years, but recently became quite serious about it and have been dancing between 3-5 nights per week and often for several hours at a time with only a few brief rests during the dance night. I've been doing this schedule for about two months now and have noticed a mild discomfort/pain in both of my knees toward the bottom outer exterior.

I'm wondering if there are any regular dancers here who experience this, and what success (if any) they've had with treating it without stopping dancing. Of course, I would slow down a little and take more breaks, maybe take a night or two more off per week, if I really had to. I also drink alcohol (2-3 mix drinks) during most nights when dancing, which probably doesn't help. Just curious to hear others' experiences.

Been dancing on and off as a hobby for many years, but recently became quite serious about it and have been dancing between 3-5 nights per week and often for several hours at a time with only a few brief rests during the dance night. I've been doing this schedule for about two months now and have noticed a mild discomfort/pain in both of my knees toward the bottom outer exterior.

I'm wondering if there are any regular dancers here who experience this, and what success (if any) they've had with treating it without stopping dancing. Of course, I would slow down a little and take more breaks, maybe take a night or two more off per week, if I really had to. I also drink alcohol (2-3 mix drinks) during most nights when dancing, which probably doesn't help. Just curious to hear others' experiences.

I'm experiencing knee pain now. Use the RICE method:

Rest, Ice, Compression, and Elevation (RICE)-Topic Overview

Ice really helps. It's better than heat.

todreaminblue