Overexercising? Abdominal pain

Eighty_nine

I don't feel like I'm over exercising, but my body seems to tell me otherwise. I work out for about an hour or so a day, 6 days a week (sometimes 5). This isn't a totally abnormal workout schedule for me, but what has changed is the intensity of my workouts- they're of significantly higher intensity than my past workout routines.

Soreness was only a problem in the very beginning. I don't feel sore so much anymore, but I do feel exhausted at the end of the day, physically and mentally too (even though I'm getting enough sleep).

The biggest thing I've noticed is abdominal pain, on and off in the hours following my workout. They're not period cramps and i don't have to go to the bathroom. It's not super intense, but it's consistent. It's not like "runners stitch"; it's straight up cramps, similar to period cramps. I don't know. What is this? Does it mean I'm overdoing it?

I'm a trainer here. Two things, if you've increased your intensity and your volume then it could be a muscle strain but could also be an abdominal hernia. If you notice a small bulge in your abs that could be.

whichwayisup

Get to a Dr and do an ultrasound to make sure all is okay. You could have cyst in your ovary or a dermoid cyst as well. That could also be why you're having those pains.

Another thing, working out like that daily isn't good. Your body is telling you to take it easy. Try aiming for every other day so you give your body/muscles a rest and a chance to heal.

• Author
Eighty_nine
Get to a Dr and do an ultrasound to make sure all is okay. You could have cyst in your ovary or a dermoid cyst as well. That could also be why you're having those pains.

Another thing, working out like that daily isn't good. Your body is telling you to take it easy. Try aiming for every other day so you give your body/muscles a rest and a chance to heal.