i don't have too far to go, but this is my first time dieting with so much emphasis on muscle development. i'm ashamed to say this, but i usually go the yo-yo route of wacky diets and slight starvation when i need to get into some dress or another. it's worked so far, but of course i always regain that weight and my overall tone is *terrible*, plus my energy levels are often low.

so, my biggest motivation is really clothes, as sad as that is. i looove the way that size 4 summer slip dress used to look, but i'm four months away from getting into it again. i have pictures up of marilyn monroe lifting weights, etc, but was wondering if anyone else has terrific motivational tips to keep in mind when the garlic bread beckons, when the workout is a bore or too confusing, or when you don't want to drudge out of bed for pilates class?

i've looked through a ton of sites, but it would be nice to know what worked for real people :)

DerangedAngel

Actually, I'm also usually constantly trying on clothes that I KNOW I can't fit in, or looking @ super skinny women when I'm trying to diet.

I've worked to overcome an eating disorder for sometime now, so I have tried to get rid of my "triggers". Otherwise I could send you many pics of anorexic models. :p Kay, I know that's not what you're after.

I took a step aerobics class for a while that I absolutely dreaded. I loved the results, though. The positive reactions from my then-boyfriend made me dread it just a *little* bit less. At that time in my life I was constantly seeking his approval, and that was a huge motivational factor for me. Gonna leave it at that before I look like even more of an insecure mess. :laugh: