eating healthy at college?

ok so i'm a college student with my own apartment

i try to eat as healthy as possible...when possible

problem is i can't cook at all

i have a george foreman, a microwave, a stove, and an oven

basically what i eat now is...eggs, yogurt, lean pockets, lean cuisine sandwhichs, plain chicken breasts, oatmeal, and soup

any1 else have any ideas or other things to mix in there...and i'll buy fruit every now and again when i'm at the grocery store

money isn't too big of an issue its more of the cooking thing thats the issue

thanks

You forgot beer, the health beverage of choice for many a college student.

May also want to buy a recipe book from a local bookstore, or Google for healthy recipes. A ton of stuff out there.

problem is i can't cook at all

i have a george foreman, a microwave, a stove, and an oven

If you can't cook, what do you use the listed appliances for - doorstops?

Regardless of skill level, you can "saute" and "grill". Get a 10" sauce pan at Target, heat it up with a little oil and throw in cut up chicken or steak with veggies. Add some store-bought sauce (watch the sodium content) and you're done! I always taught my kids to make a double portion so there was a leftover alternative to pizza and burgers for later. Same thing with your Foreman grill. Grill some chicken breasts (eggplant is a good alternative that can be prepared the same way), top with a low-fat marinara sauce and Alpine Lace cheese and you've got a great Chicken Parm. Make two and eat one on a whole grain sandwich later.

If you can pass Algebra, you can cook ;) ...

Mr. Lucky

Quit drinking so much beer is the #1. Get snack food like carrots, celery, spinach, salads (NO DRESSING!!)

Buy apples and fruit cups of whatever you like. I like peaches the most.

Get TONS of bottled water and orange juice.