going to the gym is amazing

I've been struggling with fitting exercise in my schedule, but this week I put it as my priority. I even allowed myself to work less during the day to get to the gym.

I just went for three days in a row for the first time in months and I feel amazing. So energetic, so focused so much more productive. So much happier.

The increase in my productivity is so noticeable, I think I'm going to continue skipping an hour of work for the gym.

Ps: As a phd student, I am my own boss, but have deadlines up the wazoo

Quiksilver ca

Bump it up to 5 days a week, and monitor your food intake.

Don't put yourself on a diet, just be mindful that going to the gym makes your appetite larger, and the common misfortune of hitting the gym is people getting fatter because they overeat as a result of the activity.

So, bump your activity in the gym up to 5 days a week, spending no more than 1 hour at the gym doing intense exercises(less is more).

Eat clean food with occasional cheats now and then(rewards only, no giving in to weakness. This is positive reinforcement)

And buy a calendar, X off days that you go to the gym, so you are aware of your consistency and for motivation.

i've always thought cheat days were a load of crap! why would you want to do good at you training program and screw it up by cheating? the old saying is something becomes a habit in 21 days.

Quiksilver ca

Cheat days are not actually 'cheating'..

They are rewards. My rule of thumb is for every 1 week of excellent nutrition and lifting, I give myself 1-2 cheat meals where i can eat anything.

If I skip those cheat meals, then every 14 days(2 weeks), I give myself a cheat day.

--

Every 12 weeks I give my body 1-2 weeks off to recover, and in this period I follow a loose diet.

--