Would you befriend a former bully?

I'm fairly new to the topic about school bullying but my young female cousin has dealt with one in particular in the past. Do you think it's ever ok to befriend a former bully, if said bully doesn't stand up for others nor helps those in need?

3 years ago, my cousin was getting bullied by this other girl (let's call her Mary). She would get others to join in.

One day things got physical and she hit (not a slap back but a punch) Mary back. Both were going to get suspended if they didn't make peace. Suddenly the Mary started crying, kept apologizing and promising to be nice, to be her friend, etc. At some point, she tried lying about standing up for my cousin and that it was all just a misunderstanding. My cousin didn't say anything else at that point and went along with it; she's very forgiving.

My cousin has been helping her with math and a couple courses and Mary invites her to hang-outs more often ever since.

They're both in 10th grade by now. These are the issues my cousin is a bit bothered with:

- Mary doesn't do anything if others are getting picked on; she's a bystander

- She never made any amends with another girl she bullied in middle school

- Both saw a poor homeless woman and only my cousin gave some of her lunch while Mary was on her cell talking to her bf

- Overall yes, she kept her promise of being her friend and being nice to her but she doesn't help others; she doesn't join in the bullying nor laughs but just does nothing at all

I hope this isn't a wrong assumption but I'm thinking this Mary is scared of getting in trouble or owned in a fight again. Indeed Mary is no longer a bully but not sure if it's too much of a change being a bystander that does nothing and is only nice to my cousin who literally had to put her in her place and it was a forced friendship at the time.

Edited by AloneNow