! How can I move on and be happy again?

Thank you very much for helping me out! I'm a little desperate and I don't know who to ask for help, so I came here. I'm really sorry for the long post, but I need to let this all out and hope you understand the whole picture and give me your advice.

I'll start by describing myself:

I'm 24 years old, my friends know me for being a very happy, noble person and a gentleman. Although I've had many chances to start relationships with several women, I've never had a girlfriend because I always end up backing out for two reasons: 1) no one has made me feel anything special and 2) I've always been quite okay by myself so I don't feel like having to work and making efforts to date someone who just doesn't make me feel "it" (I know this is wrong but that's just me).

Two years ago I studied a semester abroad, where I became really close friends with another exchange student. Less than a month before we both returned to our countries surprise surprise: I realized I had fallen in love with her... really hard but, for many reasons, I didn't act on it. On our last night, I kind of tried to tell her (but didn't), she got a little emotional, asked me if I wanted her (I didn't answer) and then just spent the night sleeping with her head on my chest.

We continued to talk a lot after we left, and last year she came to visit me with another friend from the semester abroad. I noticed she was very touchy and cuddly, but I refused to act on it (even though I was still in love with her). Right when we were saying our last goodbyes I told her I loved her; she started crying and told me "please don't say that". That was it.