Misinformation About Risks Associated with Paternal Age at Childbearing

Nice try...

Not buying it...

I've been a scientist for a long time.

As much as the old guys trying to have kids into their 40's and above would prefer otherwise... It simply isn't logical that men's sperm has no contribution to the health or viability of child.

Try adoption if you absolutely must be a parent past that age. Is my opinion.

• Like 1
  • Author

"When compared to a child born to a 24-year-old father, a child born to a 45-year-old father is 1.5 times more likely to have autism, .7 times less likely to have ADHD, 1.3 times more likely to have a psychotic disorder, 1.5 times more likely to have bipolar disorder, .9 times less likely to have suicidal behavior, .8 times less likely to have a substance abuse problem, .7 times less likely to have failing grades in school, .9 times less likely to have low educational attainment, .8 times less likely to have a low IQ; and 1.5 times more likely to have some higher education."

From actual, measured data. Not opinion.

• Like 1

Yep, life is imperfect yet it doesn't seem to stop older men from having children, and never will. Happy that my 'old' dad didn't let the specter of the loss of his daughters inhibit him from trying again with a new wife, way back in those times before we knew what was 'perfect' and what wasn't. Analysis paralysis comes to mind. IMO, there's a range of viability that crosses the nature and nurture aspects relevant to the age of the father; there's no 'perfect' answer.

• Like 1

Well, times ARE changing.

Women aren't obliged to have children with older men like they were in the past.

The guys hanging onto their mythical never ending fertility sound like those who deny climate change.

Just doesn't make sense to any logical person.