Year relationship

Gillian

Dear All,

This is my first time here and I was wondering if someone could give me some advice.

I have been dating a guy for over a year. I was the first one to say the three little words. He, on the other hand waited a while before he said them.

I am 100% in love with him. But now he is doing the 'SPACE' thing. He is wanting to date other women as he says he wants 'VARIETY' in his life. He has agreed that he will not sleep with them - isn't that 'BIG' of him!

I see him maybe, twice a week now.....it used to be more than that in the past.....

He has told his friends that we are no longer an 'ITEM' but lastnight for instance he referred himself as my 'BOYFRIEND'. I am so confused. He wants space, that's fine. He tells me that he is attracted to me, cares for me, will do almost anything for me but wants to date other people AND not breakup with me.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!

In my opinion, he does love you and he does care for you. However, there is something somewhere inside each of us that tells us we are ready for a long term committment. Whatever that is, it's telling him he needs to move about. In some cases, people use the space thing as a coward's reason for breaking up. I don't think that's the case here.

If you are looking for more of a sold committment from him, you won't get it now. As for his dating around, I don't feel great about that because that will confuse him and perhaps somewhere along the line, the newness of something could get the best of him.

I think it's going to take a while for him before he is ready to be truly tied down. However, there are some things you can do to move things along more quickly.

Men want a challenge. When we see someone many times a week and they are totally available to us, after a while there is just no spark because men (and women too) want what they can't have. So that's what you've got to be. Beat him at his own game.

1. Start seeing other guys.