Re: Why Do I do stupid things.

I disagree Tony, I don't feel I deserved to be fired. Here is the full story. Before I continue, I am a News Photographer for a TV station. Here's the situation.

Ok, my brother earlier had asked me if I wanted to go out with him and his wife and I said yeah but would probably have to meet them because I would get off at 10 and they would be going out at about 9:30.

So that was that. I got paged at 2:40 and asked if I could go ahead and come in, which I normally come in at 4 so I would be going in an hour early. Great, works great for me. Be off at 9, and go with my brother and his wife. My station avoids working overtime, we just don't have the budget. Understandablem, so we go in an hour early we get off an hour early.

I go in at 3, do the things that needed to be done. Get in at 6:45 and the producer says there is something I had to go shoot in a small town that started at 9. He knew I came in an hour early, and I said "I had something planned tonight".

He said that was fine, shoot some town stuff and I would be done by 9. Before I left, twice he had told me that the video WOULD NOT be used for that nights' newscast. Twice he indicated that it would not be used for it. For two reasons.

1). It's a closed city council meeting, information couldn't be released until 72 hours later.

2). I can't be in the meeting, even if I was I would never get back in time to cut video.

So I go and shoot what had to be shot and called the producer and all I said was "got the video, bye". I had figured that since I did my duties for the day, nothing else was planned, I didn't have to take the video back.. afterall it was't going to be used that night.