Temporary Foster Parent Emergency placement

PhillyLibertyBelle

PhillyLibertyBelle

Hi Parents...

My week with little tyke has taken a turn and he will now be with me from 2 to 3 months while my friend, his mother is receiving care in hospital. The original thought was to have him with Grandpa but it is thought at 77 he is not the first choice. The good news is Grandpa and I get along famously so the plan is to soend half of the day with Grandpa (Who looks, acts, and is as fit as a 45 year old) plays tennis daily and so on). He is fine with little tyke being here.

I have lots of questions so if anyone wants to wade in on any or all of these please feel free. Please note: at almost 50 I have never been a parent before so if any of the questions sound dumb apologies this is my first time out of the gate!

1. Food. He goes to food therapy weekly (has failure to thrive and a feeding tube in his stomach so he gets fed through a pump 3 times a day) and also eats a bit of food of limited quantity type and preparation. The feeding pump takes an hour and he is able to drink milk in a sippy cup during this time and water is allowed during the day. He is to be encouraged to drink water and eat some of his allowed food during the day, but he never asks for any.

I sit with him during the feed and the milk and the purée I feed him. Since the pump stays on so long, is it acceptable to also do colouring or reading together whilst he is in his high chair?

To get him to eat additional food is it ok to ask him to eat additional food?

2. Reading. He seems to like to be read to A LOT and I like reading to him. Is spending an hour or so at each feed Reading overkill?

3. Plastic bibs, washing machine or dishwasher?

4. Is there a preferred laundry soap for toddlers?

5. Should I ask him what he wants to wear he is 2.5 years old or should I choose? I’ve been choosing.

I have many more but I don’t want to post a book.

Okay, I'm not a parent either. :lmao:

Congratulations!