Permissive parenting?

major_merrick

major_merrick

This is sort of a spin-off from something I've noticed in another thread. To me, it seems like so many parents are permissive and let kids run their homes and lives. Is this normal these days? How have parenting techniques changed over the last two or three generations, and have they changed for better or worse?

Part of my perspective comes from my own childhood. My husband says I "grew up like a weed" because I pretty much wasn't parented. As long as I was quiet and didn't make trouble, I was left alone. When my little sister came along I was still in elementary school, but my mom left the responsibilities for her care up to me. My mind was occupied with important stuff like where my next meal was coming from. Unfortunately, I have little family experience of my own to base my decisions on.

Now that I'm living with my husband, I compare/contrast how he raises his kids with what I'm seeing in society in general. His oldest will be going to school this fall, so his bunch is still pretty young. But they are well behaved. Granted, they have a lot of adult contact from their moms at home and frequent contact with grandparents, which must help. The oldest daughter is calm, helpful, and when I ask her to do something she always answers with a very courteous, "yes, ma'am." (she's adorable!:)) And it isn't like my husband is super strict either. I've never seen him do spankings, or raise his voice much. Grandpa is a force to be reckoned with, however, but is still kind and gentle as well.

When I'm out at a store, or in friends' homes, what I see are children screaming, throwing things, and running rampant. One of my friends has three kids under age 6 and they won't stay in their beds at night. She can hardly sleep because of the misbehavior. In spite of her misery, she hasn't gotten around to locking them in their rooms at night, and hasn't found a single disciplinary consequence that works for them.