Keeping a kid in one place

GooseChaser

GooseChaser

So I'm not a parent but I helped out this week with a preschool class. The thing I had the most trouble with was how to keep a very young child sitting in one place without making them feel too tied down if they start wanting to go wandering off. I see other people are able to do it pretty effortlessly and when I have the same kid they want to start walking around pretty quickly. I tried not to keep too tight of a hold on them so if they really wanted to go they could go. (Most of the time we were just in the classroom so it was fine.) I asked the teacher and she just said that it's "different" with two and a half year olds than three or four year olds. Can anyone help me out? :)

I'm no expert, but sometimes I think kids can pick up on the energy we give off. If we have a calming energy, kids sense that and react a certain way. If we have more of an excitable energy, kids may react accordingly. IDK...what do you think?

Personally though, I think it's sad to have 2 1/2 y/o (or even 3-4 y/o) sitting a lot. I think they're designed to move, explore, walk/run/jump. I think keeping them seated is more a matter of convenience, or probably necessity at a daycare. I wish they were allowed to explore and move as they wish. :o

• 2 weeks later...
  • Author

That's interesting! Yeah that could be part of it. At the preschool I was helping at, we really don't keep them sitting that often! They have a lot of time to play in the classroom and they go outside to the playground for recess also. Sometimes they just sit in an oval with the teacher for a lesson or sing-along. So it's not so bad, at that particular one at least.

It sounds like a child is sitting in your lap during circle time or something like that? If that is the case, participating with him/her and then gently rocking back and forth when listening can calm a child.