Is this bad parenting?

Valdar

Hi everyone,

As part of my divorce (not my choice), my ex was required to leave the state I live in. I let her take my son (despite other issues, she's a great mother) so I could get back to something resembling a normal life. She moved back to where her family and friends are.

I visit him every 3 weeks for about 3 days at a time and he comes to stay with me twice a year for about 2 weeks each time. He's 3 right now and I've been doing this for 2 years.

I pay double the child support requirement, all his medical, and for all his activities. I do this so that she doesn't have to work, can spend a lot of time with him, and focus on her school to get a degree and improve her situation.

My ex said she could move back to my state, but she would have to be close by to me because her friends are around here, otherwise she has no support. I told her that she has to be 2 hours away because I can't fully trust her and it'll make my girlfriend very uncomfortable (been together 1 year and very serious).

I want my son closer and it emotionally tears me apart every time I leave him...

I could see him every day with the risk of having my current relationship and life disrupted by the ex. I've told the ex that I will take him back, without her, and have him live with me. But she won't accept that.

My question is: Am I being a bad parent by not doing everything I can to be closer to him?

bentnotbroken

Only you can answer that. Have you done everything? What value do you place on the relationship with your child? It seems you are doing the best you can. Maybe you should talk with your current partner and explain what you want to do in regards to your child and then sit down and work out a game plan. In all honesty, if she loves you and trusts you there is no reason for her not to want you to be closer to your child.

I wonder how enthusiastic your ex-wife would be about having full child custody, if you didn't do this: