Am I able to take daughter on vacation??

Hello all, I'm new to the parenting group...

I just have a little scenario that I would like some input on and how you would go about the situation.

I just left a 10 year abusive relationship and the ex and I have 2 girls together, one is 9 the other is 5. I have full legal/sole custody of them because their father and I were NOT married when we had the girls and NEVER married after that, so I was automatically given full/sole custody in my state (Minnesota). My issue is that I feel the girls and I deserve a little vacation to take not only my mind off of the split, but to take the girls' mind off of the split. I was planning to take them on a one week vacation to go see some friends of mine in Virginia. I had already talked to the girls about going to the beach, going to Busch Gardens... etc.... they are so excited.

I didn't tell the ex about it yet since I didn't get the tickets yet. But he found out through one of the girls bringing it up to him. So... he called me while I was at work to ask me when I was going to tell him about the trip. I said I was gonna tell him once I purchased the tickets becuase I wasn't 100% sure yet that we were going. He got extremely mad at me and told me that I was not allowed to take them with me. Even though he has no legal rights to the girls... My lawyer told me that I am able to take them anywhere even move out of state since he has no legal rights to them and I don't need his permission. But... he's telling me I'm not allowed to take them there!!! For only one week!!! he said "i" can go but I have to leave the girls with him... I asked him where the girls would stay and he said "I dunno"