Sibling Rivalry matures into BPD

Shindig

Our Mom has formally diagnosed BPD and I'm worried my sister is graduating from conventional sibling rivalry behaviors to full-fledged BPD. She's always been a little off. Our parents are older, she's the middle child and I'm her junior by 10 years. She was always crushed that I have a smaller frame and wore a smaller size. She wanted to be a doctor, but failed math because she's dyslexic and used her dyslexia to place out of math starting in high school. I'm also dyslexic, but I spent 4 days a week at my high school and then my university's learning center to figure out how to work around the learning disability.

She's always been competitive with me - when she was getting her masters in fine arts, she told me I could second-guess her when I got my masters degree. I eventually got my PhD in molecular microbiology and she skipped my graduation. I'm not much for ceremony and I didn't attend my college or high school graduation, but I attended this one and asked family to join. She was posting on facebook that day about a last minute surfing trip.

These sorts of things tend to happen with her. I've been vegan for over a decade and she sends me pictures of half-eaten carcasses and tells me that for whatever reason the meal reminded her of me. I have told her on more than one occasion just to send me a picture of her smiling face instead and when she doesn't get the rise out of me that she wants, she escalates. Most recently she sent me a book of taxidermied birds (I have a special place in my heart for birds, I have several as pets and have done bird rescue for over a decade) and then swore to me that it was on my Amazon gift list. I assure you that it was not.