i'm a college student and my mom is still controlling

paisleypanther

paisleypanther

So I'm a college student and I've been trying to be more independent but my mom makes this nearly impossible. She is able to see my phone's location so she nags me about everywhere I go. One thing that has been especially frustrating is she doesn't want me to walk alone at night. But she doesn't just stop at expressing her concern. She has been threatening to cancel my credit card or pull me out of school if I walk at night. I have night classes. It gets dark really early. She essentially doesn't want me leaving my dorm after 4:30 every day, and if I do, she raises hell.

This is exhausting. It's been hard for me to go to club activities and make friends because god forbid I go outside after dark. She also will get mad and hang up on me when I try to explain that I'm an adult and I can take care of myself pretty well. Also, she lives 300+ miles away from me and the thought of her still trying to control me from so far away is aggravating.

I know she's concerned but I'm not naive. I don't walk around town at night on my phone with my earbuds in. I stay alert. I carry mace. I walk quickly and with a destination in mind. Also, I don't really drink or anything so being under the influence isn't an issue for me. I feel like, as an adult, I should be able to make these decisions for myself. Part of being at college is learning how to take care of oneself, and I have no idea if I'll be able to do that with my mom's helicopter parenting.

I could really use some advice or suggestions. This doesn't feel like how I should be spending my college years :(

Unfortunately, you're still far too dependant on your mother. Get a job and use a debit card to access your own money. Buy your own cellphone. That way she can't track you and has no leverage regarding the credit card.

Where's your dad in this equation?

• Like 1