Sister Never Liked Me

primer

Hello,

I have two older sisters that are one year apart. Six years later I came along. Well, the middle sister never did like me. In the past, my mother would tell me that middle sister was always the youngest and cutest and then a baby came along and she lost all of the attention. She was always mean and picking on me as we were growing up.

Here is the kicker - We are all in our 50s and she still cannot stand me. I feel if I fell off the face of the earth, she would be happy. She has nothing to be jealous of. I never married and had no children. I live alone in a little house. When I was in my 30s I got my college degree, it was a personal goal of mine. I did not expect any recognition. She said to me "college degrees ain't that important." That is one of several unnecessary comments over the past 50 years. When there are family gatherings, she will plan things afterwards or have everyone over to her house and not invite me. (That's okay because I would not be comfortable there anyway.) She comes to the town I live in and does not contact me.

Now our dad is in his 80s and his health is failing. Mom passed away several years ago. I live in the same town as Dad. Oldest sister lives two hours away and middle sister lives four hours away. When Dad is having issues or needs medical care, I let them know either through group email or group text. Neither sister seems to believe me. I can tell them what the doctor said and it is as if I am not even there. Example: Dad and I were at Urgent Care and that doctor wanted Dad to see his primary care provider. My sisters are questioning me on that. Is it really necessary?

What can I do so this does not get me depressed? Why do I even try? Should I stop communicating?

Edited by primer
Happy Lemming

I'm 53 and haven't talked to my sister in over 25 years. It hasn't affected my life in any way.