How do you visit a terminal relative?

Penguin_hugs

Penguin_hugs

Hi there,

I recently found out my nan has terminal liver cancer and likely has a few weeks to months. I'm devastated. She kept the fact she wasn't at 100% health from me- and advised the family to do the same because she didn't want me to be worried and wants me to remain busy in my life. My dad started to tell me little bits. But I had such a shock when I visited her for her birthday 2 weeks ago and she was in bed, in pain, incredibly thin.

I was planning to visit this week and I just don't know what to say or do. I don't really want to get upset infront of her because it isn't helpful to the situation- but I've spent my evening in tears. I feel guilty that I may not have spent enough time with her- but my mum told me that I've done more than a lot of people.

I'm a health professional, I work in a hospital and I'm not always the best at dealing with palliative patients- but I tend to have limited contact with them anyway. I just am really struggling to handle things in my own family now.

Any suggestions for how I can deal with this? What should I say? Or do? I'm just feeling really lost.

So sorry to hear that. It's really tough all around. :(

IME you don't have to say or do anything special, it's enough for you to just be there. That in itself means a lot.

am 65, oldies know our time is short, common sense, see

take her some flowers, say hello and smile, then let her set the mood by what she says

• Like 1

Having lived through the experience of my mother's terminal illness, I would say that it matters less what you say than the fact that you are there.

Hold her hand, kiss her cheek, tell her that you love her, and know that tears are ok... As Ed Sheeran says in his beautiful song "Supermarket Flowers..." A heart that's broke, is a heart that's been loved.

• Like 1
georgia girl