Recent-grad should I live with my parents? (Independence vs savings)

Tallgirl91

Hey,

I’m a recent college grad and moved back in with my parents this past September. Originally I decided to do this because my parents urged me to because they want me to have an established savings account. Thought this was a good idea but I am seriously missing my independence! Everytime I go somewhere my mom interrogates me and I have a curfew. I do go out and drink occasionally (2 drinks at most and never to the point of being tipsy and I NEVER drink and drive) and if I come home with the smell of wine on my breath my mom lashes out at me. Also, I’m not religious and my parents keep giving me lecturers and yelling at me about becoming “close with god”... it’s very stressful. I’m not making very much (27,000/year after taxes) but I live in Ohio so the cost of living is relatively low plus I have zero college debt. I think I might want to move out but am bummed that I won’t have a large savings before doing so... What should I do?

Edited by Tallgirl91
  • Like 1
CautiouslyOptimistic

You have no college debt and a decent job. Get a roommate, move out, and have fun :).

• Like 1

I'm a big proponent of saving money but not at the expense of your mental health.

Start by having a conversation with mom about boundaries. Offer to pay some kind of rent but remind her that you are not in high school anymore & that your relationship with God hasn't changed other than her behavior is causing you to contemplate breaking the commandments about honoring thy father and thy mother.

If she isn't willing to back off, start researching roommates & learn to budget. If you don't splurge you should be able to get an apartment, eat reasonably well if you cook at home & still save a little.

• Like 2
MajesticUnicorn

Hey!