You make it difficult for people to like you

I'm a 25 year old grad student and I've been having a really difficult time in my program. I'm the first in my family to get a master's so being here is completely new territory for me and a bit of a culture shock.

I had a disagreement with a professor I don't get along with (he's an odd character. He wants to be friends but does strange things, like making blackface jokes and not supporting me as an artist). I called my mother to vent and for support. Not only did I not get that, but she took it upon herself to give me an entire character critique, saying that I make it difficult for people to like me.

I'm all for constructive criticism (although today was certainly not the time for it) but that comment in particular really caught me off guard. I've made a lot of friends here and I'm still close with several of my professors from undergrad. I'm not entirely invested in being popular, but I'm a good person and fairly likeable. The only thing I could think of was that maybe my mother feels that way about me? Needless to say, we got into an argument.

I haven't lived at home in about 4-5 years. But there's such a disconnect between who I am as a person, friend and student and what my mother sees me as. I just got the vibe that she really doesn't believe in me or see what I have to offer as a person. I definitely don't plan on telling her about any of my problems anymore, she's just not a source of support, although she should be.

Has anyone else had to deal with parents or other family members who don't have faith in them? Or see you as something that you're not? How do you deal with it?