am i a prodigal son?

Boosted

Hi everyone, I was wondering if you guys could give me some advice regarding my problem. This problem is regarding my brother, my mother and I. This has been going on for years now and I don’t think I could still change the way my mom is. I’m not good at conveying what I feel so I hope that you guys can somehow tell what I’m going through after reading this.

My mom is in her 50’s already. She takes good care of the family and raised us well. She was a breadwinner before most of the time. She had been a good mother but I couldn’t stand her claiming to be a worrywart. She claims she inherited it from her mother. I know all parents worry about their children but I believe that my mom is overdoing the worrying part. I feel that it’s more for her than it is for us, more like being selfish.

We live in a country full of corruption and crimes but it’s a part of life already and if you just want to be safe then don’t go out and just stay home for the rest of your life. There’s no difference if you go out in the morning or night coz no guarantee anymore that it’s safer in the morning.

Through all these years, the major conflict between us is she always worries when my brother or I go out at night with friends. It’s always like that for years and I’m not joking. To be honest, each time I go out there’s not a single time I don’t worry about what my mom’s behavior will be when I go home except if I go home early.

During my high school days, she would ask me to call her in the morning every time I reach school so she’d stop worrying. This doesn’t stop something bad from happening but just to ease her worrying. Every time I would go out with friends, there’s always an interview session on where we’re going and with whom.