In-Law invites another guest without asking.. and doesn't tell me.

alizamp

Hello all. I just have a quick question as to how my response (if any) should be handled because of the lack of manners.

I have been hosting Christmas dinner at my house for a few years now. We purchased our home over 3 years ago and it has become tradition already. As a family of three however, I only have place settings for 8. Seating for 8. Silverware for 8. You get the idea.

1 week ago, My Aunt in law informs my mother..NOT ME, that her son will be coming. The son is an adult. He has other family where they live so they DO have 2 christmas dinners that day. They see their family, and then come here and spend 2 hours.

I will be gracious and make arrangements for him... but it bothers me that no one asked ME. It's my home. I am the hostess. I am the one who spends close to $300 on dinner and then purchases gifts.

I don't like the idea that she TOLD someone that does not live in my home that she's bringing someone else. I do not like the fact that she didn't ask me. I can't see any reason why this behavior would seem acceptable. We are not very close.. so "assuming" is not in the equation.

I will be gracious while they are in my home of course. I do not like family drama! However, I would like to know what I can say to let her know I would appreciate more than 1 week notice next time, and also how I get the message across that it's polite to ask the hostess. (instead of telling the next of kin) She has my phone number and email address... so contacting me would not have been an issue.

Any ideas of a polite response to her behavior? I just don't want her to think it's ok to continue to do this year after year. It leaves me scrambling for the menu... not to mention the other family members who are put out and have to go out in this crazy christmas rush to buy an additional (uninvited) guest a gift. Especially when everyone is done with their shopping.

Thanks for the input!