My wife cheated during sepeartion and I did not know until now

When I got married I was in a working 9 to 5 and living a normal married life. But after being laid off for too many times I decided to go back to school and getting a bachelor’s degree. My wife and I agreed it was the best thing for our future. The first 3 years were OK, but the last year became increasingly more intense due to financial pressures and lack of time to be together. I was a full time student, working 24 hours a week and volunteering 15 hours a week to make ends meet. I thought I was sacrificing my time for our future. This resulted in my wife & me spending less time together. I thought this was temporary and would be resolved as soon as I graduated and got a normal schedule again.

My wife informed me about 2 months before graduation that she would separate as soon as I graduated. I saw this as an impending doom and could not really fathom it as she was the love of my life and the reason for all my sacrifice and hard work. As soon as I graduated she moved out to a friend’s house and told me not to contact her at all. No phone calls, no mail etc. I pursued her through the mail for 9 months and had no idea if she read my love letters as I was still very much in love with her.

After graduation I immediately got a good job and had a lot of free time. I was heart-broken, but knew deep down that my wife still loved me. She started coming around after 9 months and I was fearful of her for breaking my heart again. I did not know her intentions. We courted and I accepted her back and we now have 2 kids.