Hard time finding dates after long-term relationship

willowthewisp

Hi all,

I'm after a bit of advice please, my ex left me coming up for 3 years ago after a nearly 20 year relationship. I've worked hard to get to an emotionally healthy place over the last 3 years and I would now like to find a partner. I have a fulfillling single life, lots of friends and interests but I really would like someone to share it with. The thing is I am having a hard time finding someone!

I'm 36 years old and the area in which I live is highly populated with, I think the US term is, "rednecks"? Men who are uneducated, often unemployed, do drugs etc. In addition the guys who are employed and not on drugs, skilled guys, mechanics, carpenters and so on seem to want a certain type of women. They seem to be attracted to women with children, uneducated, living on social benefits. I'm a lawyer and as soon as I tell them this, they bolt.

A lot of the guys I meet are younger than me, I seem to attract guys 12 - 14 years younger. I keep being told that I look 26 - 28 and I'm guessing this is why I keep getting hit on my 24 years old guys. Whilst it's very flattering, they also propersition me ie they only want a one night stand. I'm really not into that, never have been and so always end up having a dance and a kiss, propersitioned and then turning them down, go home and never hear from them again.

My question is this, I look about me and I see so many couples my age, I read on here about others who have divorced and they go on to find new and happy relationships with men their own age. What am I doing wrong? Surely guys in their 30's would still be attracted to women who look younger? So why do they never approach me or if I approach them they cannot get away quick enough?