Marriage Counselling...your thoughts?

My husband has finally agreed to MC.

I have no experience of MC and don't know anyone who has. I've read a lot of negative things about it. I'm wondering if it's the right thing to do or not. I know I probably have nothing to lose but I'm feeling unsure about it.

If anyone wants to share their experience or thoughts on the subject I'd really appreciate it.

Pradajunkie
My husband has finally agreed to MC.

I have no experience of MC and don't know anyone who has. I've read a lot of negative things about it. I'm wondering if it's the right thing to do or not. I know I probably have nothing to lose but I'm feeling unsure about it.

If anyone wants to share their experience or thoughts on the subject I'd really appreciate it.

Honestly I liked MC but you have to have 2 people willing to work on it, together. When we went, we were doing really well...so well he thought we didn't need it anymore, however the same problems keep recurring out of couselling, and I can't get him to commit to it. Make sure you find a couselor who you both like and respect and stay with it, no matter how well you are doing or how hard it seems! Good Luck to you.

I think that marriage is between two people and a third one is too many.

MC is just a desperate attempt to salvage what is lost for the most part.

Why do you want to go? That's the important part. The answer is less obvious than you might think.

We saw a clinical psychologist for a bit over a year...... I want to hear your answer before commenting further

I have had individual therapy.. not about my couple.. it was personal.. when I had my depression... I went through two psychiatrists, about ..maybe 5 psychologists... and they were all bad.. really bad..

Not one single of them really helped me.. it was a big waste of money and time..

Anyone can be a psychotherapist... you just need a university degree.. it's nothing..