I had to break up with him, and it’s killing me now that we have separated

warabimochi

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting in loveshack

I am currently in pain and confused. And I need all the advice I could get.

Background:

I dated this guy I met in college for 5 years. We were good together, we even talked about marriage and kids, you name it. And so last year both of us graduated, and we started with our jobs. Everything was fine until last year’s christmas.

Problem:

Last year’s christmas, he began ghosting me. He hung out with his friends without telling me, hanging out with his coworker without telling me, he even did not spen the holidays (christmas & new year) with me. Furious, I confronted him about it. We argued, but never reconciled. After this, our relationship’s going downhill. We would have big fights, him threatening us to break up, and I would beg and plead him not to break up with me. This problem lasted for the whole 2 months, and with each passing time he became indifferent, cold, and unable to show affection to me anymore. Every time passes, I am dying because he doesn’t love me anymore.

Climax:

Feb 25th, I made my last effort. I talked him through, I controlled my emotion, I carefully picked my words, but he kept being cold towards me. One last time, I asked him “Do you still love me?” He answered “I don’t know, I can’t answer that” and that was the last straw. I know I had to end this, because I just could not take it anymore. And so, with heart shattered, I said to him gently, “I am letting you go, goodbye”. Our last fight happened in my room. After my parting words, I left the room and minding my own thing. I can’t handle it anymore, for two months I was depressed (literally), and in the end he made no effort for our relationship.