Has the "No Contact" thing actually worked for anyone? Especially if you have Kids?

Hi guys, please excuse the length, it's my first time posting and I just really could use some advice because I'm fresh out of friends and supportive people in my life.

My ex broke up with me 5 months ago. We were high school sweethearts, together for 9 years. Madly and happily in love for years. Our first baby came along in 2013, followed by our second in 2016. After our kids came along I became a stay at home mum totally involved with them and he got a couple of promotions and became totally involved with his work and we kinda lost our identities and connection as a couple just fell out of love without realising it.

A couple of months before our break up he went away for work for 2 weeks and during that time we missed each other so much we both (if anything, more him than I) realised how badly we wanted to be together and really tried hard for a good month to make everything perfect again and it was for a while but eventually we slipped back into the pattern and the rut. He said he realised that he was developing feelings for a coworker and left our family to "find himself" and pursue a "friendship/potential relationship" with her. Saying that neither of us was really happy anymore and we shouldn't settle for less than happy the sake of it.

I was actually surprised at how devastated I was. It hit me like a tonne of bricks. I didn't realise what I had until it was gone and we were over. I really took him and our relationship and our wonderful life for granted and pushed him further and further away by picking stupid little fights until he had enough and looked for praise and validation somewhere else. It was innocent enough until it wasn't anymore.

I stupidly begged and pleaded and totally degraded myself for the first few weeks trying to get him back.