Should I have ended it?

kayliejenika

kayliejenika

I recently dumped my boyfriend of over two years, mainly because he wants to join the military. He is from a military family and it's always caused some tension between us because I'm strongly anti-war. I always assumed I could convince him not to join, I convinced him drop out of his military prep club in high school, and he implied he wouldnt join for a long time.

I graduated a year ago and am attending university in Canada (he lives in the US), he only graduated this year and wants to be a doctor. We always planned to attend the same university, but when time came and he realized he would need loans, he decided not to go to university, stay in the US, go to community college (because it's free) and join the military, so he wont have to pay for any of his education, instead of getting a 5 grand loan, which is all he would have needed. He refuses to get loans because of his parent's debts and because I didnt need to get any. However, instead of saving his money he blows it all on useless things.

Not only am I extremely against war, which just seems like a pointless waste of money, ressources and people, but I also strongly value work, I work 60-80 hours a week to pay my education, he has never worked more than some 20 hours, and generally works much less. I really feel like he's taking the easy way out, not to mention risking his life. I'm terrified he'll die just to save a bit of money, he wants to be a doctor, meaning he'll be more than able to pay off his loans.

He's always known I wouldnt support him if he were to join the military, when I mentioned I was scared he's die, he replied he'd be dying for something worth it - I hardly consider war worth it.

I love him beyond words, and I'm not sure if I'm simply overreacting about him joining the military and should just suck it up and accept it. We really have different idealogies regarding the matter.