Ex offers to help me financially

francis

can anyone shed any light on what this might suggest?

we were long distance, hoping to be together after i graduate from uni next year. his financial situation is very good, he owns his own business. i am a lowly student up to my eyes in debt.

we broke up in May but are still in regular contact (i dont expect sympathy because i have failed miserably at NC...his father was diagnosed with cancer a few weeks ago and he turned to me for support).

he offers to give me money. what would you do? opinions would be much appreciated.

Turn him down.. Borrowing money from friends, family and or (ex)lovers causes nothing but problems..

Even if he says it's a gift it really won't be one day and if he says you can pay it back .. One day you won't be paying it back fast enough..

Never lend or borrow money from anyone other than your parents.. and even then there are normally strings attached ..

If by chance you decide to let yourself be bought by your ex then make sure it is all in writing and the terms are written down as well as if you are paying interest or not.

Notarized !!

slubberdegullion

Quick clarification: I assumed this was a loan, not a gift. A_C is correct about getting the terms all down on paper.

• Author

his exact words are 'are you doing ok in terms of money? let me know if you need any of my help'.

i used to accept his help in the past because we were very much in a place whereby it was 'our' money...he used to get upset if i turned him down because he would interpret that as if i were trying to vehemently stay independent and resisiting dependency on him... i think he liked the idea he was taking care of me that way, as if that were his responsibility. it was never seen as a loan in the past.

he dumped me yet he still wants to help me out...i just dont know how to read this.