Emotional setbacks over a year later. Holy repression, Batman.

RedRecluse

Hey there. To be honest, I've never used one of these forums before and I feel a little silly asking for help from strangers. But reading all your posts made me feel not so alone and crazypants.

Long story short, I'm backsliding. Badly. My partner (34m) of seven years and I (32f) broke up about thirteen months ago. I ended it with him after he confessed to cheating on me a year previously. I was so furious because that last year had been a hard one in which the business we ran together was stressful. I felt like I was the only one trying to make everything work and here he was keeping such a big secret for fear of ruining us. Which it did, because trust is everything.

So I told him to leave. And he did. He left our work, our home, moved out to the countryside and somehow landed his dream job. I, being the stoic lady that I am, was pretty calm throughout the whole thing. Like, scary calm. We kept in contact, were both civil and supportive and things felt... okay. I managed. No freak-outs, minimal bad decisions, lost some weight, all good. We were determined to keep our friendship of nearly a decade intact. To be honest, we were a bit co-dependant.

Things progressed. I went on a few dates, a few hook-ups, mild crushes, nothing serious. He remained single. I was so proud of how perfectly and reasonably I was handling everything. No Jerry Springer moments, or bitter sniping. I thought I'd moved on after the first year. He seemed to be struggling with it, but I kept my distance emotionally. I honestly thought I was better off.