saw ex, now feel I have gone backwards in my recovery.

michelle2003

I was coming home from a night out. I stood on the pavement to straighten my bag before going inside my house and my ex drove by.

I saw him turn to look at me and cooly and slowly turn back to his driving in a very controlled and aloof manner. I had been doing ok since the break up 3 months ago.

He broke up with me in a cold way and didn't discuss it with me, just a monologue and no communication. Even though I reached out wanting to talk about it because above all else we were friends, or so I thought. I didn't get the kind of respect and treatment a friend deserves. He just had his say and cut me out completely.

After I reached out a few times and got no reply I deleted his number and never contacted him again. It was hard for me to accept and move on because of the way the break up happened. But after 3 months I felt I was doing quite well until I saw him and now I am crying everyday again and am very sad.

Am I never going to let go of this sad episode of the past and move on emotionally. As soon as I think I am doing ok I go backwards.

It was just a six month relationship. I was happy in it and didn't expect it to end so suddenly or in that way, since my ex seemed so loving, open and rational.

How long will it take so it doesn't affect me anymore, even if I see him or his friends? Is there anything I can do to let it go?

I don't want him back either, but I do love him and care about him.

So my brain understands and wants to move on, has no regerets but my heart hasn't caught up even though on many occasions I think it has. I guess I sometimes wish he was different so it wouldn't have turned out the way it did but my brain knows better.

Its like a battle and I want my brain to win. I really really do want to move on and put all this behind me.