Social Anxiety Ruining My Life

isdn00789

My story:

I'm a 21 year old college student. I've spent the last 4 years in college getting a degree I didn't want. Why? Because I couldn't manage to admit to anyone that I'd made the wrong choice. I've known for 7 semesters that this was not the right choice for me, but I had these irrational fears about telling people I'd changed my mind. Fortunately I've done very well academically and I've received enough money to pay for all my school as well as to help keep my pockets line (overall, probably at least $30,000 extra). In other words, I haven't gone into debt getting a degree I didn't want.

I've chosen a new path which I'm fairly confident in, but a lot of my friends still believe I'm going to stick with my original degree because I can't manage to tell them otherwise... I just let them believe.

For now I have a job utilizing the degree I all but have. I am paid very well, the environment is great, and there are good benefits. The problem isn't even that I don't even have a real interest in the job--it's temporary, after all. The problem is that I'm terrified I'm going to end up getting fired from this job because I'm too afraid to ask questions. Why? I don't know... there is no rational reason why I should be. I know that, and yet I still can't.

On a slightly different note: