Whats been your best way to cope since? Pass on your tips

bigheartkindsoul

bigheartkindsoul

Whats been the best way for you to cope and keep sane after your break up?

For me I guess keeping busy has been key. Being busy meant I didn't always have to think about what went wrong, him, us etc don't get me wrong I still had my moments but much less than if I had sat indoors always and didn't distract myself from how I was feeling and my hurt.

I am pretty much there now just wanted to hopefully help others.

:D

Long walks with my Ipod. Crying. Gyming it. Venting to family and friends. Trying to appreciate all the things I have and I am not going to die from this! Oh and LS of course ;)

I found exercise has helped me ALOT. In particular, running. Which i've never done before.

Been hard sometimes to drag my ass to the gym, but when you're done you do feel better. Pounding on some weights helps take some venom out your system too.

In the process of reading some self help books too. 'Self Matters' by Dr.Phil McGraw, and 'No More Mr. Nice Guy'.

Crestfallen_KH

These are all good tips. I vote for walking. Nice, long walks where you can obsess AND get in shape! A healthy, fit body really goes a long way in boosting the ol self-esteem.

Therapy has been a big one. I feel like I'm a drag sometimes on my friends and family, but my therapist expects me to cry, mope and rage for an hour. And her reactions are constructive and encouraging. Sometimes friends and family just don't know how to help.

If you feel up to it, volunteering has been a big help. I work in the cattery at the Humane Society in my town, and helping out animals makes me feel good about myself. Plus, I can sit and pet a kitty, which helps me too. :)

• Author
bigheartkindsoul
These are all good tips. I vote for walking. Nice, long walks where you can obsess AND get in shape! A healthy, fit body really goes a long way in boosting the ol self-esteem.