Struggling

My ex girlfriend and I were together for 13 months when we broke up. We lived together for the last 6 months we were together. She is honestly the first girl I could see myself marrying and settling down to have a family. I am 30 and she is 27.

I was very selfish in the relationship once I moved in with her. It was the first time I was living away from home and I only focused on myself. I was obsessed with working out and eating healthy. I cooked all of my meals (very rarely cooked for her because she didn’t like my cooking), I was on a crazy 6/7 day workout schedule and everything we did revolved around it, and we would barely go out on dates. Bottom line, we felt more like roommates than a couple.

We broke up on June 1st. I’m a teacher and we still had one more week of school left so we still lived together for almost 2 weeks after the breakup. During those two weeks I showed her that I wanted to change. I didn’t want to have that healthy lifestyle anymore, I wanted her more than anything. During those last two weeks living together, we ate together, went grocery shopping together, acted more like a couple the last two weeks than the previous two months. She even agreed that we seemed like a couple those final two weeks.

When we broke up, she said the worst four words that can be spoken together, “We need to talk”. She ended it because she felt that we were more like roommates than a couple and that she wasn’t happy with the relationship or herself. She was very emotional while doing it because she said I was such a great and caring guy and she feels terrible for doing this to me. She has been in very abusive relationships and I was the first guy she could actually see marrying.