Did I breakup with the love of my life?

NCBonsteel

I'll try to keep this short- my apologies up front - also, 1st time poster.

I first met my Ex in high school, and as far as I can tell, instantly fell in love with her. It was clear right away that we had intense feelings for each other but never ended up dating even though she had asked once or twice. ( I was too conceited and in true high school-boy fashion, wanted to run around with as many girls as possible. This isn't something that I am proud of, I'm just being frank so to tell the whole story.) Ultimately I ended up hurting her enough times for her to swear me off as a possibility.

We stayed in touch throughout college and ended up sleeping together a few times. After I graduated I moved to the west cost and as of 6 years ago, back to our home state. We reconnected about 4 years ago while we were both nearing the ends of our individually failing relationships.