Right or wrong decision?

endless schooling

My background. I was in a relationship for about a year. I moved in with her about 6 months into the relationship. We work together. I am a doctor and she is a nurse. I come with no children and she comes with 4. I thought taking on children was not a problem and I got along with all of them really well.

Over the course of our relationship I had a trouble with my "independence". I went from being completely free to having a lot of responsibility. She didn't help a ton and I think she was used to being there 24/7 for her children. It was a problem anytime I wanted to do something just for myself. Like meeting a friend for a couple hours after work or being able to have some time where I was just by myself. I ended up breaking up with her and moving out back into my house (that I previously put on the market).

I feel terrible because she is hurt by it and her children are too. I honestly think it was too big of a jump for me (I just turned 31) and it was overwhelming to me. Still I get to work and I see her. I still find her absolutely beautiful and amazing. I still picture curling up to her when I get to work. I still find myself wanting to talk to her after a really stressful shift or just running up to her and giving her a big hug. I miss getting a text from her or being able to hear her voice.

I don't miss having to be always present and no free time. I often look back and don't miss the constant pressure to always be there. I love kids and want my own but I was often times in a position to jump in and take care of 4 of them. I don't miss that. I don't miss not being able to do what I want or meet up with friends. I don't miss needing to get up at 6 am (I usually work nights) to get kids on the bus for school when she worked.