Dumped because I'm too good? Is that a thing?

Hello.

I am new to the dating scene and I seem to be having the same pattern with men.

Guy #1 - Things started great, soon realized he was very emotionally unavailable. He apologized and used the "it's not you it's me" line.

Guy #2 - Recently divorced (like myself). Seem to be on the same page on emotional availability but he equally had a lot going on. "I'm sorry but you deserve better and I can't give you what you need right now.

Guy #3 (Most painful) - Really liked this guy. He had all the right check marks, was very communicative from the beginning about where I am at and what I expect/want, had an amazing first date (he claimed the best first date he's ever had), we both agreed that we were very happy about where things were headed. He had already asked me to go to Toronto to meet his friends and family in the summer and was speaking about the future often. Then things started to shift suddenly and he announced that he "isn't ready for a relationship" even though I never asked for anything serious. "I can't give you what you need."

Before you slut shame me and go down asking if I slept with any of them too soon I will ignore it.

I have been reading that sometimes guys will break up with girls that scare them or that they are afraid to be hurt by.

All three of these guys had NOTHING negative to say to me, it was all "you're perfect" "You deserve better" and in fact in the beginning THEY were the ones emotionally investing me, asking me to be exclusive with them, making plans for the future etc. And then all suddenly flipped and pulled away.

I am aware I am probably attracting emotionally unavailable men and that there are some things I may be doing to cause this.

That's not my question, my question is, is this is actually something men do?! Do men really break up with the potential perfect girl because they are scared? Or not ready?