After a crazy year I feel lost

My girlfriend of 2 years broke up with me a week before christmas.

Rewind 2 years ago, i worked as a grunt in a visual effects company. Over time while there, after a lot of thought and after speaking to some of the artists I decided I wanted to make the career decision of becoming a Concept Artist for the entertainment industry. I moved away to study a masters degree in this subject and while initially making friends from my class, one of them would end up becoming my future girlfriend.

We hit it off quite fast, had so much in common and she was smart and beautiful. We hung out in the same circle of friends from our class and studied together. It was a year long course and I was so happy during this time. I loved the people around me and the work I was doing on a daily basis.

She practically lived over my place for the 2nd half of the year. Then the end of the course came, I worked as hard as i could during the year but knew id likely still not be quite good enough, it takes years of hard work typically to land a job in this field, most of us knew our portfolios werent quite there yet (its brutal to get into this industry and we needed to keep developing our skills.) My girlfriend and I spoke, we thought it would take us another 6 months tops, we both said we were in the relationship for the long run so lets make it work. You see, shes from Poland and im from the UK, so we had to go back home until we landed jobs. I still remember her saying - im not worried at all because i know how close we are.

"I" was worried cos of the long distance, my parents arent the most stable family and my stepfather had been diagnosed with cancer 2 months before this.

In contrast she was from a wealthy background, her parents own multiple businesses and houses, something i wasnt as aware of at this point.